Skip to content
WoW ForeverWoW Forever beta client 1.60.1.70205 · the official Classic+ · launches November 4, 2026Also on Classic Era · The Burning Crusade · Wrath of the Lich King · MoP Classic · Retail (Midnight)

WoW Forever Leveling Guide

Short answer: level the way you would in Classic, but do every dungeon quest, set talents at 10, and save for riding training. The beta stops at 30, and the zones up to 30 keep their Classic level bands in the client, with new sub-areas, three new dungeons open in the beta (a fourth is in the client) and faster respawns in five busy zones.

Advertisement

Written for the World of Warcraft: Forever (Classic Plus) beta and checked on October 5, 2026. Facts from Blizzard are marked with Blizzard sources, press reports are marked as reported, and level numbers come from our datamine of the beta client. The game can change before launch on November 4, 2026, and the beta ends October 21. [Blizzard, September 17, 2026]

Quick answers

QuestionAnswerSource
Level cap at launch60Blizzard [Blizzard, September 12, 2026]
Level cap in the beta30 since October 1 (it opened at 20)Blizzard [Blizzard blue post, October 1, 2026]
How long to level 20About 20.5 hours on average in Forever, against 20.4 hours in ClassicReported [Icy Veins, September 2026]
Talents start atLevel 10 (level 5 with the Talented Legacy perk)Blizzard [Blizzard, September 30, 2026] and client data
Dual SpecializationLevel 40Blizzard [Blizzard, September 30, 2026]
RidingBurning Crusade model: the cost moves into riding training and the mount comes with it. Price not announcedBlizzard [Blizzard, September 13, 2026]
New dungeons you can level in now3: Hall of Thanes, Ruins of Lordaeron, Excavation Site: WetlandsBlizzard [Blizzard blue post, October 1, 2026]
Dungeon quest XPStill above normal quests, but the extra was cut 50% on October 1Blizzard [Blizzard blue post, October 1, 2026]

"Blizzard" means a Blizzard post. "Reported" means press quoting the developers. "Client data" means our own datamine of the beta client.

What changed for leveling in Forever

Forever keeps the original Classic world and level curve as its base. These are the changes that touch leveling, each with its source.

  • The pace to 20 is about the same as Classic. The developers said the average beta character takes 20.5 hours to reach level 20, against 20.4 hours in Classic. [Icy Veins, September 2026] That is a play time average, not a change to the XP table.
  • Dungeons pay through quests, not kills. Kris Zierhut said XP from dungeon monsters was brought "way down" and XP for dungeon quests made "much, much, much higher". [Warcraft Tavern, September 14, 2026] Then on October 1 Blizzard cut it back: "Dungeon quests now reward 50% less extra experience beyond normal quest values." [Blizzard blue post, October 1, 2026] Pick up every dungeon quest before you zone in, and expect a full clear to be worth less than in Classic.
  • Talents from level 10, changed at a class trainer. Blizzard: "To change your talents, including Legacy talents, visit a class trainer in one of the major cities." There are milestone talents at 11, 16, 21 and 31 points. [Blizzard, September 30, 2026]
  • Dual Specialization at level 40. [Blizzard, September 30, 2026]
  • Riding follows The Burning Crusade. Blizzard is "shifting the up-front mount cost into training". The training level and price are not announced. [Blizzard, September 13, 2026]
  • Camping. You can place a campfire and rest at it for buffs, and crafted food can "grant a small experience bonus". [Blizzard, September 13, 2026] In the beta, campfires no longer hurt players below level 5, and camp rest shows as the Boosted Rest effect. [Blizzard blue post, October 1, 2026] The beta quest cache has twelve new "Camping 101" quests at level 6 that teach it.
  • Faster respawns in five busy zones. Blizzard "increased the respawn rate across many different creatures and objects in Hillsbrad Foothills, Ashenvale, Wetlands, Duskwood, and Thousand Needles", after earlier fixes in Redridge Mountains and Stonetalon Mountains. [Blizzard blue post, October 1, 2026]
  • Fewer copper veins in starter areas, and creatures can only be skinned once. [Blizzard blue post, October 1, 2026] Expect fewer copper nodes early on.
  • Legacy Points. Points earned on one character help every alt; see the next section and the Legacy Points guide. [Blizzard, September 13, 2026]

Legacy perks that speed up leveling

Five perks in the Adventure tree change how you level. The text below is the tooltip in the beta client (build 1.60.1.70058), so the numbers can change before launch. Blizzard describes Well Rested the same way in its deep dive. [Blizzard, September 13, 2026]

PerkClient tooltip
TalentedYou gain talent points every level starting at level 5 instead of starting at level 10, but you still may not have more than 51 total talent points.
Well RestedYour rested experience accumulates 20% faster and your rested experience cap is increased by 20%.
Thrill of AdventureYou gain 5% of your maximum Health and Mana over 10 sec each time you deliver the killing blow to a non-trivial enemy. Ineffective in dungeons, raids, and battlegrounds.
Frequent FlierYou receive a 50% discount on all flight paths, and your flight path mount flies 20% faster.
Field GuideReduces your cooldown on adding Camp features by 25%

Our read: Talented is the one that changes how a fresh character plays, since talent points start at level 5 instead of 10. Well Rested pays off on alts that sit offline between sessions. Plan your points with the Legacy calculator.

Zones by level, 1 to 30

Every zone you can level in up to the beta cap, grouped by the territory it had in original Classic. The level columns are not a guess and not the old Classic web tables: they are the exploration levels the game client itself gives each sub-area of the zone, lowest to highest, in the Classic Era client and in the Forever beta client. Use them as the level band the zone was built for. Blizzard has not published Forever zone ranges.

Alliance

ZoneClassic Era clientForever beta clientWhat Forever changed
Elwynn Forest5 to 105 to 10No change found
Dun Morogh4 to 124 to 121 new sub-area: Ironforge Submarine Facility (56); New dungeon: Hall of Thanes (beneath Ironforge)
Teldrassil5 to 115 to 11No change found
Westfall9 to 189 to 18No change found
Loch Modan10 to 1810 to 18No change found
Darkshore11 to 1911 to 19No change found
Redridge Mountains15 to 2515 to 25No change found
Duskwood10 to 3010 to 30Faster respawns (October 1 notes)
Wetlands20 to 3020 to 303 new sub-areas: Dragonmaw Retreat (25), Excavation Site: Wetlands (26), The Drunken Dwarf; New dungeon: Excavation Site: Wetlands; Faster respawns (October 1 notes)

Horde

ZoneClassic Era clientForever beta clientWhat Forever changed
Durotar5 to 105 to 10No change found
Mulgore5 to 105 to 103 new sub-areas: Camp Gev'rek (6), Gloomrise (6), Skywatcher Plateau (10); Galak Camp moved from no level to 9
Tirisfal Glades5 to 125 to 123 new sub-areas: Bandarion Keep (8), Shadowvale (8), Whispering Forest (8); New dungeon: Ruins of Lordaeron
Silverpine Forest10 to 2010 to 20No change found
The Barrens10 to 3310 to 33No change found

Contested

ZoneClassic Era clientForever beta clientWhat Forever changed
Stonetalon Mountains15 to 2515 to 25No change found
Ashenvale19 to 3019 to 30Faster respawns (October 1 notes)
Hillsbrad Foothills20 to 3120 to 31Faster respawns (October 1 notes)
Thousand Needles24 to 3524 to 351 new sub-area: Scalding Ridge (6); Faster respawns (October 1 notes)
Alterac Mountains27 to 3927 to 391 new sub-area: Old Dalaran Ruins (30); New dungeon: City of Dalaran

Skyborne start (both factions)

ZoneClassic Era clientForever beta clientWhat Forever changed
Zephras Islenot in Era3 to 12New zone, not in Classic Era; 27 new sub-areas: Thendal Standing Stones (3), Thendal Cave (4), Shen'dar Highlands (5), Shen'dar Village (5), Bandit Hideout (6), Falaath Village (6) and 21 more

Client data: AreaTable exploration levels in Forever beta build 1.60.1.70205 and Classic Era build 1.15.9.70003, extracted October 5, 2026. A level in brackets is the exploration level of a sub-area that only the Forever client has. Zone pages link to maps and flight paths.

What the data says: no old 1 to 30 zone changed its level band in the Forever client. What changed is new places inside the zones: three new sub-areas each in Tirisfal Glades and Mulgore, Dragonmaw Retreat and the Excavation Site in the Wetlands, and Old Dalaran Ruins in Alterac Mountains. Zephras Isle, the Skyborne start, runs from 3 to 12.

Travel between them with the Alliance and Horde travel guides and the flight path map.

Dungeons while leveling

Blizzard loading screen art for Excavation Site: Wetlands
Excavation Site: Wetlands, the newest beta dungeon (Blizzard art from the beta client).

The beta client tunes 15 dungeons between level 13 and 35. Blizzard lists 14 of them as open since October 1; the fifteenth, City of Dalaran, is in the client but not open. [Blizzard blue post, October 1, 2026] Two columns give the level: the level Blizzard announced, and the level the beta client's Dungeon Finder data tunes the dungeon to.

DungeonEntranceBlizzard's levelClient tuning levelBeta
Hall of Thanes (new)Beneath Ironforge13 to 18 [Blizzard, September 17, 2026]13Open
Ragefire ChasmOrgrimmarNot stated13Open
Ruins of Lordaeron (new)Tirisfal Glades15 to 20 [Blizzard, September 17, 2026]15Open
The DeadminesWestfallNot stated16Open
Wailing CavernsThe BarrensNot stated17Open
Shadowfang KeepSilverpine ForestNot stated18Open
Blackfathom DeepsAshenvaleNot stated22Open
The StockadeStormwind CityNot stated23Open
Razorfen KraulThe BarrensNot stated24Open
GnomereganDun MoroghNot stated25Open
Excavation Site: Wetlands (new)Wetlands26 to 31 [Blizzard blue post, October 1, 2026]26Open
City of Dalaran (new)Alterac Mountains28 to 33 (reported) [Blizzard Watch, September 13, 2026]28In the client, not open yet
Scarlet MonasteryTirisfal GladesNot stated30Open
Razorfen DownsThe Barrens25 and up [Blizzard blue post, October 1, 2026]34Open
UldamanBadlands30 and up [Blizzard blue post, October 1, 2026]35Open

Client tuning level: LFGDungeons ContentTuning in beta build 1.60.1.70205. Classic Era sets no tuning level for these dungeons.

How to read it: for the four new dungeons the client level is the bottom of the range Blizzard announced. For Razorfen Downs and Uldaman Blizzard gives the level you may enter at (25 and up, 30 and up) while the client tunes them higher, at 34 and 35. Excavation Site was 24 to 29 at BlizzCon [Warcraft Tavern, September 13, 2026] and Blizzard moved it to 26 to 31 on October 1. [Blizzard blue post, October 1, 2026]

Because dungeon kills now pay little XP and dungeon quests pay extra, one run with every quest done is worth more than two runs without them. The quest XP itself is server side, so we cannot list it from the client.

Dungeon pages show bosses and Forever changes from the beta client.

New quests seen in the beta

84 quests in the beta server's quest cache have an id that the Classic Era client does not have, so they are new in Forever. The cache only holds quests our beta client has seen, so this is a sample of the new content, not all of it. Blizzard has not published a quest count we can cite.

Quest cache build 1.60.1.70124. Every cached quest is on the Forever quests page.

30 to 60: what we know before launch

This part is an outlook, not a route. Levels 31 to 60 open at launch on November 4, 2026. [Blizzard, September 12, 2026] Until then nobody can test a route through them, and we will update this section once the game is live. What we can show now is how the client sets up each zone, and where the new Forever content sits in it.

ZoneClassic Era clientForever beta clientWhat Forever changed
Arathi Highlands30 to 4030 to 40No change found
Desolace30 to 3930 to 39No change found
Stranglethorn Vale30 to 5030 to 50New dungeon: The Drowned City
Badlands36 to 4536 to 45No change found
Swamp of Sorrows36 to 4336 to 43No change found
Dustwallow Marsh36 to 6136 to 61New dungeon: Alcaz Island Prison (Alcaz Island)
Rivergladesnot in Era36 to 44New zone, not in Classic Era; 19 new sub-areas: Meadowsbrook (36), Southern Watch (36), Wheeler's Grange (36), Bristle Hills (37), Ashwood's Fall (38), Elbrim's Farm (38) and 13 more; New dungeon: Krol'Dok Stronghold
The Hinterlands41 to 4941 to 491 new sub-area: Martsirt (56)
Feralas41 to 6041 to 60No change found
Tanaris40 to 5040 to 50No change found
Searing Gorge43 to 5643 to 56No change found
Azshara42 to 5542 to 552 new sub-areas: Thalassian Vanguard Camp (49), Legashi Stronghold (52); New dungeon: Blackmaw Hold
Felwood47 to 5447 to 54No change found
Un'Goro Crater48 to 5548 to 553 new sub-areas: Stomping Grounds (48), Pillar of Assimilation, The Shaper's Terrace; New dungeon: Shaper's Terrace
Blasted Lands46 to 6346 to 63No change found
Burning Steppes50 to 5950 to 591 new sub-area: Poacher's Den (56)
Western Plaguelands46 to 5746 to 57No change found
Eastern Plaguelands54 to 5954 to 59No change found
Winterspring55 to 6055 to 60No change found
Silithus55 to 5955 to 59No change found
Deadwind Pass50 to 6050 to 60No change found
Mount Hyjalnot setnot set9 new sub-areas: Cradle of Tranquility, Dae'gun, Elderwild, Felblood Scar, Malorne's Retreat, Mourning's Rest and 3 more

Client data: AreaTable exploration levels in Forever beta build 1.60.1.70205 and Classic Era build 1.15.9.70003, extracted October 5, 2026.

Read the new zones as datamine, not as a route. Riverglades is a new zone with sub-areas set from 36 to 44, so it slots in beside Stranglethorn Vale and Arathi Highlands. Mount Hyjal gains nine new sub-areas with no level set yet. The client also names Ruins of Gilneas and Shen'dralas, which Blizzard has not announced, with no levels set. New sub-areas also appear in Azshara, The Hinterlands, Burning Steppes and Un'Goro Crater, mostly in the 48 to 56 range.

New dungeons above 30 (announced at BlizzCon, reported ranges, not in the beta):

DungeonWhereReported level
The Drowned CityStranglethorn Vale coast35 to 40
Krol'Dok StrongholdRiverglades40 to 55
Alcaz Island PrisonAlcaz Island, Dustwallow Marsh48 to 53
Blackmaw HoldAzshara55 to 60
Shaper's TerraceUn'Goro Crater58 to 60

Ranges as reported by Warcraft Tavern [Warcraft Tavern, September 13, 2026] and Blizzard Watch. [Blizzard Watch, September 13, 2026]

The first raids open December 9, 2026, according to the BlizzCon roadmap as reported by the press. [Blizzard Watch, September 13, 2026] See the Forever raids page.

Practical tips

  1. Collect dungeon quests before each run. In Forever that is where dungeon XP is. [Blizzard blue post, October 1, 2026]
  2. Visit a class trainer in a major city at 10 to set talents, and again whenever you want to change them. [Blizzard, September 30, 2026]
  3. Save for riding training, not for a mount. The mount comes with the skill. [Blizzard, September 13, 2026] The price is not announced yet, so treat any number you see as a rumour.
  4. Plan your second spec for 40. Dual Specialization arrives then, so a leveling spec and a dungeon spec can live on one character. [Blizzard, September 30, 2026]
  5. Rest at camp and eat crafted food. Crafted food can give a small XP bonus. [Blizzard, September 13, 2026]
  6. On alts, buy Talented and Well Rested first. See the Legacy Points guide for full builds.
  7. Quest in the five faster-respawn zones (Hillsbrad Foothills, Ashenvale, Wetlands, Duskwood, Thousand Needles) without waiting for camps. [Blizzard blue post, October 1, 2026]

Professions while leveling

Blizzard counts "over 600 new recipes" across professions, and camps use profession items. [Blizzard, September 13, 2026] Gathering costs little while you level, but starter areas have fewer copper veins and creatures skin once. [Blizzard blue post, October 1, 2026]

Skill 1 to 300 routes, computed from the beta client, are on the profession guides: Mining, Cooking (for the food XP bonus) and First Aid are the three that help a leveling character most directly. Every recipe is on the Forever professions pages.

Gold while leveling

Riding training is the big cost to plan for, and gathering while you level is the simplest income. Live beta auction prices, where to farm and what to save for are in the WoW Forever gold guide.

Sources and method

Blizzard (official)

Reported (press quoting the developers)

Our client data

  • Zone levels: the AreaTable ExplorationLevel of every sub-area of each zone in Forever beta build 1.60.1.70205 and Classic Era build 1.15.9.70003, read from our datamine on October 5, 2026. A sub-area counts as new when the Era build has no row with its id. Exploration level is the level the game gives an area for discovery XP; it is not a quest level.
  • Dungeon levels: LFGDungeons rows and their ContentTuning in build 1.60.1.70205.
  • Legacy perks: the Legacy talent tree tooltips in build 1.60.1.70058.
  • New quests: the beta server quest cache, compared against the Classic Era client's quest ids.

Left out on purpose: riding prices, quest XP numbers, gold per hour and any 30 to 60 route, because none of them has a source we can cite yet.

Written and checked on October 5, 2026. The beta ends October 21, 2026 and the game launches November 4, 2026; we recheck this guide on new beta builds and after launch.

TheWoWDB is a fan site and is not affiliated with Blizzard Entertainment. World of Warcraft, Warcraft and Blizzard are trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment. Loading screen art and icons are Blizzard's.

Related